High Peak Cricket Society
High Peak Cricket Society CricketArchive

The High Peak Cricket Society is pleased to announce that 'The Geoffrey Woolley Junior Player of the Year Trophy', sponsored by 'owzat-cricket', was awarded to George Dyson.

The photo shows George receiving the trophy from former Yorkshire & England wicketkeeper, Richard Blakey.

George plays senior and junior cricket for Glossop C.C and represents Derbyshire at his age group (U15s 2014).

George finished the 2013 season as a frustrated seam bowler. During the winter 2013/14 he worked hard at his batting and started to bowl off spin. He scored consistently and took plenty of wicket in Glossop U15s and with the U17 ended the season as leading run scorer, his best performance coming in the regional play-off final against Prestwich C.C where he took 3 quick wickets and then scored a match winning 45no. His performance won him the Man of the Match award.

George scored runs and took wickets for both Glossop 3rd and 2nd teams, passing 50 three times and taking 20 wickets for the 2nd XI . He also featured for the 1st team where his fielding made the biggest impact.

With Derbyshire U15s George was given the opportunity to open the batting, scoring consistent 30's and passing 50 on two occasions, one of which was in the semi-final of the national play-offs.

George is hoping for a place in the Derbyshire U17 squad for 2015 and is working hard to try and cement a place in the Glossop 1st XI .

[January 2015]







2013 winner was Alice Dyson
2012 winner was Matthew Sonczak
2011 winner was Cameron Ball
2010 winner was Will Freeman
2009 winner was Chris Durham
2008 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2007 winner was Lydia Slack
2006 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2005 winner was Josh Unsworth
2004 winner was Chris Durham
2003 winner was Matthew Kennedy
2002 winner was Matthew Ratcliffe

Copyright © 2003-2017 High Peak Cricket Society and CricketArchive