High Peak Cricket Society
High Peak Cricket Society CricketArchive

The High Peak Cricket Society is pleased to announce that 'The Geoffrey Woolley Junior Player of the Year Trophy', sponsored by 'owzat-cricket', was awarded to Matthew Sonczak.

The photo shows Matthew receiving the trophy from former Warwickshire CCC wicketkeeper, Geoff Humpage.

Matthew is a Right Hand Batsman & Left Arm spin bowler In the 2012 season he played for Glossop Cricket Club & captained the under 13's for whom he scored 347 runs and was only out twice gaining an average of 173.5. He bowled 27 overs and took 9 for 66. The team won the League, Cup & end of season play-off and were unbeaten throughout. Matthew played for the club second eleven scoring 261 runs in 11 innings with a highest score of 45 and an average of 32.6. He also bowled 21 overs taking 8 wickets for 114 at an average of 14.25 He captained the Audenshaw School under 13's but due to the wet weather they only managed to play 5 matches. He scored 350 runs including a top score of 115* and two other scores of 70.He also bowled and took 12 wickets. He captained the JW Lees Lancashire County League under 13's and in the one game played he scored 40. Matthew has represented Derbyshire at all age groups since under 10's. During the 2012 season he played 14 times for the under 13's & scored 231 runs including 3 x 50's with a top score of 58*. He also is recognised by his coach at Derby as an excellent fielder both in the deep and in the ring with a great pair of hands and a powerful throw. The Society wishes Matthew continued success 2013.

[January 2013]







2011 winner was Cameron Ball
2010 winner was Will Freeman
2009 winner was Chris Durham
2008 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2007 winner was Lydia Slack
2006 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2005 winner was Josh Unsworth
2004 winner was Chris Durham
2003 winner was Matthew Kennedy
2002 winner was Matthew Ratcliffe

Copyright © 2003-2017 High Peak Cricket Society and CricketArchive