High Peak Cricket Society
High Peak Cricket Society CricketArchive

The High Peak Cricket Society is pleased to announce that 'The Geoffrey Woolley Trophy', sponsored by 'owzat-sports. was awarded to Lydia Slack.

The photo shows Lydia receiving the trophy from AJ Harris.

Lydia first became interested in cricket after watching her older brother play for Whaley Bridge U11's. She felt left out and wanted to join in but he made her wait until he'd moved up into U13's to save him the embarrassment of having his younger sister playing on the same team. Her Mum and Dad were both very supportive, giving her every encouragement and her brothers were always around to practise with.

Lydia progressed into the U13's and also started playing for Hayfield ladies until she was selected for Whaley Bridge U15's. Lydia then had trials with Derbyshire; she got straight into the side as the only spinner and bowled successfully taking many wickets including 4-8 against Lancashire and 3-4 against Durham. After a successful season she was nominated 'Most Improved Young Player of the Year' by the Derbyshire Cricket Board in 2006.

In 2007 Lydia was appointed captain of Whaley Bridge U15's. She also played for Wirksworth Ladies 1st XI and Dinting Ladies, playing as many games as possible. She was appointed captain of Derbyshire U15's and played regularly for Derbyshire U17's returning figures of 7.1 overs 6 maidens 2 runs and 4 wickets against Yorkshire. Her team won their group and progressed to the national semi-final. Unfortunately Lydia was injured and couldn't play. She was then selected for the Derbyshire senior team and went on a 3 day tour to Taunton. She took 3-34 against Northants in a successful tournament which resulted in her team gaining promotion. Lydia hopes to continue playing for both Whaley Bridge and Derbyshire, and her ambition is to gain a position in Derbyshire.s mini-academy, progressing as far as possible.

The Society wish Lydia continued success in her career and thank Andy Mitchell from .owzat-sports. for sponsoring the trophy. Lydia has been invited to Andy's Cricket Shop in South Normanton to choose some cricket equipment.

[January 2008]



2006 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2005 winner was Josh Unsworth
2004 winner was Chris Durham
2003 winner was Matthew Kennedy
2002 winner was Matthew Ratcliffe

Copyright © 2003-2017 High Peak Cricket Society and CricketArchive