High Peak Cricket Society
High Peak Cricket Society CricketArchive

The High Peak Cricket Society is pleased to announce that 'The Geoffrey Woolley Junior Player of the Year Trophy', sponsored by 'owzat-cricket', was awarded to Alice Dyson.

The photo shows Alice receiving the trophy from Lancashire CCC batsman, Paul Horton.

Alice Dyson comes from a cricketing family basically growing up watching her brother and Dad play and helping her Mum with teas and had no option as a youngster but to have a go. Alice started to play softball cricket at U9 with Glossop girls team and progressed to hardball u11's where she had the confidence to play in the lads team. Alice is a right arm away swing bowler, who regularly opens the bowling, a good batter with a top score of 71* for Derbyshire Cricket Board ( DCB ) girls u13 in 2012 and enjoys her fielding. Playing her junior cricket at Glossop, she regularly opens the bowling for the u15's in 2013, taking several wickets and scored a few runs in the middle order when she got the chance. Alice represented the u17's in a few games last season including the play off cup final and also played for the 3rd X1 who won their league, with several good bowling performances. Alice has represented Hayfield ladies the last three seasons, even getting her Mother to play. She has been part of the DCB girls squads since 2010 and the emerging girls the last 2 seasons. In 2012 the DCB u13's had a great season reaching the national quarter finals losing a very close low scoring game to Hampshire, Alice taking 2 wickets and top scoring with 33*. In 2013 Alice was the u15 opening bowler and also played a few games for the u17's. Alice has represented DCB ladies senior team at the 2 day T20 competition the last two years, helping the ladies win their competition this year. In the final Alice took 2 early wickets for 6 runs off 4 overs. At the end of the 2013 season Alice had a trial for and gained a place on the DCB Mini Academy Programme for the 2013/14 season. [January 2014]







2012 winner was Matthew Sonczak
2011 winner was Cameron Ball
2010 winner was Will Freeman
2009 winner was Chris Durham
2008 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2007 winner was Lydia Slack
2006 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2005 winner was Josh Unsworth
2004 winner was Chris Durham
2003 winner was Matthew Kennedy
2002 winner was Matthew Ratcliffe

Copyright © 2003-2017 High Peak Cricket Society and CricketArchive