High Peak Cricket Society
High Peak Cricket Society CricketArchive

The High Peak Cricket Society is pleased to announce that 'The Geoffrey Woolley Junior Player of the Year Trophy', sponsored by 'owzat-cricket', was awarded to George Holden.

The photo shows Derbyshire wicketkeeper, Harvey Hosein (right), presenting the trophy to George.

During the 2015 season George played for Derbyshire Cricket Board Under 13s, Whaley Bridge Under 15s & Senior 2nd X1, Kings School Macclesfield Under 13s A team as well as making his debut in the School First X1.

At Derbyshire he has captained his age group team for 2 years. During season 2015 he played 15 League & friendly games. His best performance was his first county 50 at the Taunton Festival.

Although still an Under 13, George captained the Whaley Under 15s to the finals day of the competition. On this day he scored 28 runs off one over in the semi-final only for them to eventually lose to the hosts Hazel Grove in the final. In total he scored 186 runs at an average of 46.5 in 9 games as well as bowling and taking a best of 3 for 11. As a captain he takes charge of all on-field responsibilities and is already capable of outsmarting off-field captains.

For the senior 2nd team at Whaley he managed to score a best of 62 and bowled 15 overs taking 2 wickets.

His Kings School coach has penned the following:

This was a successful season for the U13A team, which culminated in triumph in the Cheshire Cup Final.

George Holden captained the team excellently, and led from the front as a free scoring opening batsman who amassed an impressive 377 runs at an average of 53.9 runs per innings.

He also picked up crucial wickets (11), including a vital 4-10 in 3.2 overs as Kings avenged an early season defeat in beating Cheadle Hulme by 12 runs in the Cheshire Cup Final.

[January 2014]







2014 winner was George Dyson
2013 winner was Alice
2012 winner was Matthew Sonczak
2011 winner was Cameron Ball
2010 winner was Will Freeman
2009 winner was Chris Durham
2008 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2007 winner was Lydia Slack
2006 winner was Matt Higginbottom
2005 winner was Josh Unsworth
2004 winner was Chris Durham
2003 winner was Matthew Kennedy
2002 winner was Matthew Ratcliffe

Copyright © 2003-2017 High Peak Cricket Society and CricketArchive